Quick Update of Our Progress

From:  Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Hi everyone!

The past week has been crazy busy. We spent this past weekend going through donated items and sorting them into categorized boxes.  It felt like we did a lot of work, but looking at what we still have left, reminds us otherwise. haha Donations have been rolling in and we’ve been receiving texts, calls, emails, etc. from friends, friends of friends, our old church, other churches, etc. of items that will be donated. We are beyond thankful for all the feedback we have been receiving.  Our little home is filling up fast, but we are so excited and appreciative of everyone’s generosity.

Besides going through donated items, we (along with a couple friends that are helping us out) have been reaching out to vendors for the vendor sale and silent auction.  This has been a fun opportunity to meet new people in the area.  So many of them have been supportive of our plans and excited for us to adopt even though they are perfect strangers.  I’ve created a long list of items that need to be done and have so many ideas running through my head.  Jason keeps wondering how everything is going to work out and I respond with, “You just gotta have faith” or the phrase which I am sure he is sick of hearing, “Just trust me”.  Am I way over my head?  Yeah, probably… but I like challenges. I like to work hard and fight through challenges and win in the end.  With God, all things are possible.  Right?

I’ve been reading about home studies and what needs to be done to pass them.  Friends and family that have seen our home, tell us we should pass easily.  Our home is safe.  Yes we may be in the middle of random house projects, but nothing is unsafe.  We need to make vet appointments for our cats to get them up-to-date on their vaccinations (yay, more money to spend 😊), install smoke detectors and carbon monoxide detectors, get a lock box for our medicines and over the counter medicines, finish up with other projects, and much more.  This has been part of the hold up of why we haven’t moved much further with an agency. I’m a planner.  I’m the type of person that likes to have my ducks in a row before I move on to the next step.

As many of our friends and family know, I love pictures.  On my to-do list, is to have adoption pictures taken of Jason and me.  You know, the pictures that announce that we’re adopting.  My now basically everyone knows we are adopting, but I want it more for a keepsake.  I’m sentimental and like to track moments in our lives through pictures.  But to be honest, we’re both working on losing weight and trying to get healthier.  So for now, pictures are on hold for a little while.

What’s ahead for us? Too many things to list! haha For starters, we will continue to move forward with sorting through donated items to make room for more items that will be donated.  Next, would be to continue with planning the silent auction and vendor sale.  After these tasks, we will just continue with checking things off our list.

That’s about it for now.  We’ll be back soon with more updates.  Have a great rest of the week!

Leave a Reply

